Friday Letter, 12-15-17

The last day of the quarter. You made it.

I’ve been back at work full time this week after two successful eye surgeries over the last month. Thanks for all who have inquired and endured my story-telling about the experience.  I’m healing well, I’m seeing well.  I’ll have a new pair of glasses to dial things in as of February 1, but am (for the first time in my life) functional without any aids even now.  I’ve also appreciated hearing from other people who have similar issues or have gone through similar processes.

Vicki Newton and I wish to thank the 102 people who stopped by the Koffee Haus yesterday. We were thrilled to visit with everyone and help you wrap up the quarter.  Speaking of coffee, two other things to report.  I have completed the Coffee for Three series.  I will be sharing some reflections from that process next week in the Friday Letter.  And, the winners of a Starbucks gift card for having selected the prized Star Wars trading cards were Marion (info desk) and Martin (financial aid).  Congrats to the both of you and I hope you will learn from Obi-Wan’s teachings.

For staff: Please remember that we begin an alternative work schedule for two weeks beginning NEXT week.

Beginning December 18, we revert to a 4-day, 10 hour work week.

We’ll work 10 hours on December 18, 19, 20, and 21. The college will be closed on December 22nd.

The college will also be closed on December 25th and 26th.

December 27, 28, and 29 will be 10-hour work days.

We are closed Monday, January 1 and return to 8 hour days beginning January 2.

Thanks to Katherine Raines for sharing an article and video with me about a former student. Derek Flett is a Learning Center employee and his research project was published and presented to his peers last week in New Orleans. “We’re all very proud of Derek and expect great things from him!” He will be graduating from the UWB Engineering program this spring.

https://www.washington.edu/news/2017/12/05/rooftop-wiretap-aims-to-learn-what-crows-gossip-about-at-dusk/

The Board of Trustees met this week to begin my end-of-year review. While they recognize that we have to constantly put out fires and address challenges, they expressed their satisfaction with the entire campus and our employees’ dedication to our students and institutional health. I thought I would pass that along.

If you are interested in viewing some of that success, our Japanese students who come to us from Trajal Hospitality College are graduating from their 9 month English program tonight (6-8pm, Mobius). It is always an entertaining and meaningful ceremony.  You are welcome to attend.  Thanks to the International Programs staff and ELP faculty for the extra effort it takes to stand up this mid-year graduation ceremony.

Stay well and have a great weekend.

Leave a comment