Shaun Segraves, Yours Truly Editor in Chief

Interview conducted by Thaddeus Vale

Shaun Segraves, our Editor in Chief for the 2017 edition of Yours Truly, shares what it’s like to lead a publication team and champion our creative arts magazine on campus. With his stellar management, communication, and editing skills, Shaun is model for not only excellence in student leadership, but also in integrated and active learning at Cascadia.

Photo credit: Thaddeus Vale

Q: Why did you apply for the Editor in Chief position this year?
A: I have had previous experience as a manager in my chosen career in the past so I felt that it was the right fit for me. I felt that it was the best position for me to utilize my skill set. There is more than just managing involved and I wanted to take a position that has more pressure than a typical position.

Q: What do you do in your role as an Editor in Chief?
A: I delegate all tasks, overlook all the teams, and set and establish the timeline for our publication this quarter. I also meet with the leadership team to check in on their progress and to help them if necessary. I overlook everything and jump in when needed, so it’s basically an all-rounder type position.

Q: What’s the biggest challenge for your team this quarter?
A: The biggest challenge for the team is really making sure that every individual team is working collaboratively with each other, managing that whole experience, and checking and adjusting as we go. We try to look and see if there are any opportunities for improvement within the teams. We also take the time to appreciate the individual contributions people give to the publication.

Q: How will you lead your team to handle it?
A: I will be making sure that the final product is of the best quality it could be. I’m always putting pressure on myself to make sure the publication turns out in the best quality we could achieve.

Q: What do you wish to see at the launch event?
A: I would want to see a well-received interactive event with a diverse audience.

Q: What do you want to notice the first moment you open up the magazine?
A: I want to notice the magazine takes the reader on a journey. I feel that each page should be it’s own experience throughout the publication and no two pages should be alike.

Q: If the budget were unlimited, what would you do?
A: I would make a hard cover version of the publication, and I’d love to make the event a true cocktail party red carpet release event, where people are dressed up and we have passed-appetizers with a wait staff. Truly giving it a special feel, I would also love to frame artwork of the artists themselves as a token of appreciation for submitting artwork for Yours Truly.

Q: What is the key to success in your position?
A: COMMUNICATION IS KEY. I need to be able to see the big picture of the publication process. As the Editor in Chief, you must always see how all the teams interact with each other and oversee all activity.

Q: If a future member of your role wanted to ask for advice, what would you tell them?
A: I would tell them that communication is integral, start planning early, set a timeline, and hold yourself accountable.

Q: What theme does this years’ publication reflect from your point of view?
A: I’ve taken a journey of all three quarters of this class, so it feels like a journey. The poetry and images it appears to be a common theme of a emotional journey that takes place.

Q:
How do you feel Yours Truly contributes to our Cascadia community?
A: I feel like it creates an inclusive environment, not only for our students, but for our faculty and our community as well. Yours Truly has been a meeting place of creativity where people can share and soak in the creative aspect of learning.

Learn more about Yours Truly by connecting with us on social media!

Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Instagram

RSVP to our Launch Event on June 5, 2:00-6:00pm HERE!

Leave a Reply

