Friday Letter, 4-28-17

Yesterday was a stressful day for me.  I know I like to always put the positive spin on #lifeatcascadia, but some days are harder than others.  We all have them.  And while I will tell you about my stress, there IS a positive outcome.  (That means I will hold true to my spin tactics.)

Yesterday at 7am I met with a landscape contractor who started work on my front yard.  My design is not finished for what I need him to do.  On the other hand, he needed to get this project done ASAP.  When I got to Cascadia for work, I wondered if he understood the things I needed accomplished.  At the same time, my spouse is trusting that I’m giving these instructions correctly because the details of our yard are important to him.  So my second stressor…I hope I don’t screw this up otherwise I disappoint my spouse.  And if that’s not bad enough, it was our 10-year anniversary yesterday.  You don’t want to screw up the project on THAT day.

At work, we’ve had three great HR candidates and I need to make a choice next week.  I started reference checks yesterday and have been reading your feedback.  Different folks need/want different things.  And this is not something I want to screw up, otherwise I disappoint my second family…you.  So this was causing me stress.

Add to that the decisions that need to be made with regard to reserved parking (not done yet), the budget (in progress), and other various things (Cavolines, Master Plans) that need to be wrapped up in the next few weeks.

These things led me to stress because my default nature is that I am a control-the-outcome-kinda-guy and I want to make the best decision possible.

So I headed yesterday to my daily Coffee for Three with 2 faculty members and these things on my mind.  We talked about the last 6-7 years.  We talked about the coming 6-7 years.  When I left that meeting, my “almost-migraine” was gone.  The reason for this was that we talked about the state of affairs at Cascadia from a team perspective.  I felt that I was working with trusted colleagues who have my back, who want to make a difference, and who are willing to help.  I felt not alone.  And sure…we have things to work on.  But we will do this together.

Your feedback about the HR director has been invaluable.  I’ve read every word and appreciate the support of the search committee and HR team.  You all know that resolving reserved parking is tough, and many of you have supported me despite the dislike for the current proposal.  These instances of Team…through the HR search, parking issues, budget, Coffees…these things reduce my stress.

And my yard…it’s just dirt.  If it’s not in the right place at the end of the day, I own a shovel.  Thank you to Dianne Fruit and Jared Leising for being my counsel and my support at yesterday’s Coffee for Three.  And thank you for continuing to support the team.

 

One thought on “Friday Letter, 4-28-17

Leave a Reply

