Happy Halloween!

Warning! This post is a bit personal and hits close to home. But I am choosing to share it with you because I think a lot of you Kodiak’s could relate.

When I was in high school, I had really poor self esteem. I was dealing with a difficult divorce between my parents and didn’t have a lot of friends. Probably because I was always sad and had bouts of depression. I felt misunderstood mostly, as we probably all did in high school. Toward the end of my senior year, as prom approached, I kept hoping that I would get asked to the dance. Nobody asked me.

But my tenacious personality didn’t let that get in the way. I dressed myself up in the most vibrant emerald green mermaid-style dress, did my hair and makeup, put on my gold heels and went anyway. I showed up with 2 girl friends who also didn’t get asked to prom. After about 15 minutes of standing there awkwardly and watching all the other couples dance, I left. It was just like a scene from the movies- there was the popular crowd, and I was the dorky kid. My heart was shattered.

This past Thursday, I dressed up in a similar green, did my makeup all sparkly, braided my hair, and painted a white streak in it. I walked into the very same place where my senior prom was held with a huge smile on my face, confidence through the roof, and a handsome date- whom by the way, was prom King at his high school. Funny how things change.

10760_10202749987943237_551900255963233707_n(dressed as Krisof and Anna, from the movie Frozen)

When I look back at pictures of myself from high school, I was beautiful. Inside and out. I had a huge heart to share with people, but I was so badly wounded, I couldn’t see it. Over the years, I took initiate to find the healing I needed. I was able to forgive my parents for the divorce, develop an unshakable self confidence, and attract the type of friends I actually wanted (i.e not the popular crowd.)

Life has so many ups and downs. When I see students in the hallway walking around with their heads down, and sadness on their faces, all I want to do is give them a huge hug and tell them they are going to get through it. We belong to each other. We need to support one another and help carry each other’s burdens. My favorite all time quote is “Be Kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”          -Wendy Mass

I just want to encourage everyone reading this post that 1) you are not alone. We all feel what you have felt, and 2) we should all support one another in the best way we can. Nobody is on this planet by accident. There’s a purpose for you, and you are loved. Remember that today, and always! Happy Seahawks Sunday!

-Mila Prokopenko, PR/Marketing Student Intern photo-4

#inglewoodcountryclub

Leave a Reply

